home,page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,page,page-id-4,stockholm-core-1.0.5,select-theme-ver-5.1.8,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,menu-animation-underline,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.0.2,vc_responsive

"The most promising new work by a young composer I’ve heard in years."

Ivan Hewett, The Telegraph

"A composer of colour, a composer of new dimensions – I’m very impatient to see what he can achieve."

François-Xavier Roth, conductor

"Kafka’s Dream shimmered and glimmered, offering a stylised kind of theatricality."

Neil Fischer, The Times

"Kafka’s Dream managed to say exactly what it wanted in a series of vivid, elegant gestures that never outstayed their welcome."

Andrew Clements, The Guardian




The winner of the prestigious Claudio Abbado Composition Prize 2022, Donghoon Shin is a South Korean composer based in London. His music has been performed and commissioned by prominent orchestras, ensembles and festivals such as the London Symphony Orchestra, Philharmonia Orchestra, Helsinki Philharmonic, Karajan Academy of the Berlin Philharmonic, Spanish National Orchestra, Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra, Ensemble Intercontemporain, Birmingham Contemporary Music Group, Ensemble Recherche, Riot Ensemble, Festival d’Automne a Paris, Tongyeong International Music Festival, TIMF Ensemble and Exaudi ensemble.

He won numerous prizes including the Claudio Abbado Composition Prize, Royal Philharmonic Society Composition Prize in 2016, Goethe Award by Goethe Institut and Tongyeong International Music Festival in 2013 and the Gran Prix of the ANM-BBVA International Composition Concours in 2010. He also served the Birmingham Contemporary Music Group as Young Composer in Residence (2017-18) through the Embedded Scheme of the Sound and Music.

Recent works include Of Rats and Men for chamber orchestra commissioned and premiered by the Karajan Academy of the Berliner Philharmoniker conducted by Peter Eötvös and Kafka’s Dream for the London Symphony Orchestra conducted by François-Xavier Roth.

Internationally renowned orchestras will perform new works by Donghoon: with the Claudio Abbado Prize 2022, Donghoon is commissioned to write Concerto for Cello and Orchestra which will be premiered in May 2022 at a Gala Concert to mark the 50th Anniversary of the Karajan Academy of the Berlin Philharmonic. The orchestra, conducted by the Chief Conductor of the Berlin Philharmonic, Kirill Petrenko, will be a combination of current scholars of the Karajan Academy and alumni who are members of the Berliner Philharmonic. The soloist is Bruno Delepelaire, first principal cellist of the Orchestra and former graduate of the Karajan Academy.

The Los Angeles Philharmonic, together with Seoul Philharmonic and Bamberg Symphony also commissions a new orchestral work of Donghoon (WP: Autumn 2022); a new violin concerto (for the violinist Kristóf Baráti and the conductor Boon-Hua Lien) is commissioned by the Pannon Philharmonic Orchestra and the Peter Eötvös Music Foundation (WP:2022).


6 Jul 2021

The Hunter’s Funeral for ensemble

(German Premiere)

Ensemble Mediterrain, Bruno Borralhinho (cond.)

Kulturpalast Dresden, Germany


21 Aug 2021

Of Rats and Men for chamber orchestra

(Austrian Premiere)

Tonkünstler Orchester

Auditorium, Grafenegg, Austria


28 Oct 2021

Kafka’s Dream for orchestra

(Asian Premiere)

Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra, Osmo Vänskä (cond.)

Lotte Concert Hall, Seoul, South Korea

29 Oct 2021

Kafka’s Dream for orchestra

Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra, Osmo Vänskä (cond.)

Lotte Concert Hall, Seoul, South Korea

Autumn 2021

My Shadow for clarinet, 2 violins, cello & piano

(UK Premiere)

City of London Sinfonia

Venue TBA

7 May 2022

Concerto for cello and orchestra

(World Premiere)

Karajan Academy of the Berlin Philharmonic, Bruno Delepelaire (vc.), Kirill Petrenko (cond.)

Berliner Philharmonie, Germany


Autumn 2022

New Piece for orchestra

(World Premiere)

LA Philharmonic Orchestra, Conductor TBA

Walt Disney Concert Hall, LA, USA


New Piece for orchestra

(Asian Premiere)

Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra, Osmo Vänskä (cond.)

Venue TBA

May 2023

New Piece for orchestra

(European Premiere)

Bamberg Symphony Orchestra, Osmo Vänskä (cond.)

Konzerthalle Bamberg, Germany